Plenary and Keynote Speakers

TACT2023 Plenary Speaker



Prof. King-Ning Tu

Chair Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering
Chair Professor, Department of Advanced Design and Systems Engineering
Chair Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
City University of Hong Kong


To be announced


Main Experience:
Senior Manager of Materials Science Department at IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Science Research Council Senior Research Fellow and The Royal Society Guest Research Fellow at Cavendish Laboratory, UK
Fellow of American Physical Society
Fellow of the Metallurgical Society
Overseas Fellow of Churchill College
Application to Practice Award of the Metallurgical Society
Alexander von Humboldt Research Award for senior US scientists
President of the Materials Research Society in 1981.
TMS-EMPM Division Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award, 2006


American Physical Society - Fellow, 1981
The Metallurgical Society - Fellow, 1988
Churchill College - Overseas Fellow, 1990
Materials Research Society - President, 1981
The Metallurgical Society - Application to Practice Award, 1988
Alpha Sigma Mu Lecturer of American Society for Metals, 1986
Acta/Scripta Metallurgica Lecturer, 1990 - 1992
Humboldt Research Award for Senior US scientists, 1996
Honorary Member of The Korean Institute of Metals and Materials, 1996
Certificate of Appreciation from SEMATECH for flip chip study, 1998
Member of Academia Sinica, ROC, 2002
Founder's Award - Ions at Caltech: 1967-1976, 2003

TACT2023 Keynote Speakers


Prof. Frans A. Spaepen

John C. and Helen F. Franklin Professor of Applied Physics
School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Harvard University

To be announced



Prof. Samir Aouadi

Associate Professor
Associate Department Chair for Graduate Program
Joint appointment to Physics
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
University of North Texas

To be announced




Prof. Diederik Depla

Department of Solid State Sciences
Ghent University

To be announced




Prof. Jyh-Wei Lee

Distinguished Professor
Director of the Center for Plasma and Thin Film Technologies
Department of Materials Engineering
Ming Chi University of Technology

To be announced




Prof. Jolanta Sapieha

Associate Professor
Director and co-founder of the Laboratory for Optical and Tribo-mechanical Metrology (LOTM)
Co-director and co-founder – Functional Coating and Surface Engineering Laboratory (FCSELLaRFIS,
Department of Engineering Physics
Polytechnique de Montréal (Polytechnique Montreal)
Polytechnique Montréal

To be announced




Prof. Sam Zhang Shanyong

Director of Centre for Advanced Thin Films Materials and Devices
School of Materials and Energy
Southwest University

To be announced


Prof. Chengkuo Lee

Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
National University of Singapore

To be announced